More and more security loopholes continue to generate a high demand for cyber security experts in the IT field. For example, according to reports, in the first half of 2019, more than 3.8 billion records of more than 3,800 security violation cases were tracked. This percentage is higher compared to the incidents reported in 2018. This means that there is a growing demand for cybersecurity training, especially for highly skilled professionals who can mitigate these threats.


Interestingly, IT certification is seen as a measure of the proficiency of cybersecurity skills, a commitment to high quality, and a reliable standard of expert excellence. This means that if you really want to develop your career in 2020, you should consider obtaining one of the best cybersecurity certificates. Therefore, in this article, we will introduce the best certifications you can explore to improve your marketability in the field of cybersecurity.

1. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

EC-Council CEH is an intermediate certificate for professionals who want to assume work responsibilities in terms of moral piracy. Verify your abilities in five stages. This includes identifying, gaining access rights, enumerating, covering tracks and maintaining access rights. People with CEH certificates have knowledge and skills related to hacking, including fingerprinting and identification, system hacking, denial of service attacks, social engineering, Trojan horses, enumeration, Web applications, and wireless networks. They also include cryptography, session hijacking, sniffer, SQL injection, IDS evasion, penetration testing, honeypot, web server and firewall hacking knowledge.

To obtain this certification, candidates must pass an exam. It is also recommended that he/she take a 5-day training course before taking the exam. Students with at least two years of information security experience cannot participate in this formal course, but must submit documents confirmed by the employer. The required exam includes 125 multiple-choice questions, and the time limit for completing the exam is 4 hours. You must pay a fee of $1,199 and pass the Pearson VUE registration exam.

2. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

ISACA CISM is a higher-level certification designed for experts who develop, supervise and manage information security systems in applications at different business levels. It also applies to those who develop best security practices in the organization. By obtaining a CISM certificate, you will have proven advanced knowledge and skills in governance, program development and management, incident response and management, and security risk management.

To obtain this certificate, you must accept the ISACA Code of Ethics and pass an extensive examination. It also requires at least 5 years of information security experience. And you must be prepared to follow the provider’s continuing education policy. Candidates must also submit their requests in writing for consideration. The fee is US$50, the exam fee for members is US$575, and the exam fee for non-members is US$760. The certification test contains 150 questions and lasts for four hours.

3. Information System Auditor (CISA)

ISACA CISA is the gold standard for knowledge and skills in audit control, assurance and information security. Applicants for this certification must have the ability to identify and evaluate vulnerabilities and threats in the organization. They must also have the ability to provide organizational guidance and security control. Individuals should be able to demonstrate their skills in various areas of CISA work practice, including auditing, procurement, governance and management, asset protection, maintenance and service management, and development and implementation.

Candidates must accept the Code of Professional Ethics, submit an application, pass the exam and accept the requirements for continuing vocational education. To take the certification exam, students must pay a fee of $575 (or $760), depending on their membership. Like the CISM exam, it contains 150 questions.

4. Certified Information System Security Expert (CISSP)

(ISC) ² CISSP is one of the required network security certifications. It is an advanced level and is suitable for IT professionals who are passionate about information security. Individuals with this certificate are decision makers with technical knowledge and expert skills to formulate, manage and guide the safety standards, procedures and strategies in the organization.

To obtain this certificate, the applicant must have at least five years of work experience in at least two of the eight (ISC) 2 CBK domains, including:

  • Security and risk management;
  • Communication and network security;
  • Asset security;
  • Identity and access management;
  • Security architecture and engineering;
  • Security action
  • Security software development;
  • Security assessment and testing.

CISSP provides three different IT security levels (ISC)2. They include CISSP-ISSAP: Architecture, CISSP-ISSEP: Engineering and CISSP-ISSMP: Management. The cost of each centralized exam is $599, and the annual fee for maintaining the certificate is $85. The test contains about 150 questions and can take up to 3 hours to complete. The certificate is valid for three years, after which you must recertify.

5. Security+

CompTIA Security + is one of the five most popular cybersecurity certifications in 2020. It is a vendor-neutral entry-level certificate that can verify the technical skills, extensive knowledge and experience of students in different security fields. Ultimately, you will acquire relevant skills in various fields, including cryptography, threat management, security risk identification and mitigation, security infrastructure, and network access control.

If you intend to obtain this certificate, CompTIA recommends that you first obtain Network+. You must also have at least two years of cybersecurity work experience. You must pass the prerequisite exam to obtain this certification. The test covers 90 performance-based questions and multiple-choice questions with a completion time of 90 minutes. The passing score is 750 and the full score is 900.

In conclusion

If you ask what is the most popular cybersecurity certification by 2020, now you know the answer. The ones we mentioned above are one of the most popular certificates in the field of cybersecurity, so please don’t miss them. Choose the certificate you want to pursue, you will definitely want more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What Our Clients Say
678 reviews